You already know the answers…


  When an animal is born it is gifted with a set of instructions that we call instincts. It knows what to eat and how to get it, how and where to pro-create, how to care for its children, where it will live and how to build its home, and if it should to travel south for the winter or just take a very long nap. As humans, we have been given the same gift, but we received another gift that sometimes gets in the way of our instincts. We call it intelligence.

Our instincts are very subtle nudges that we feel in our gut; nudges that we sometimes choose to ignore because either they seem irrational with no evidence to support them.

Animals have no fear of getting it wrong, they just do it. It became apparent to me that the reasons we ignore our instincts are solely based upon fear. We are afraid to trust our true power; the power that is within all of us.

I realized that our intellect is getting in the way of our power, and I knew there had to be a way for us to get our intellect to work with that power. Our instincts are the answers to what we should be doing, so the key for me was to ask the right questions. These are the questions I try to remember to ask myself when I’m about to do something that my gut is “nudging” me about:

Is it worth the risk?

Will the time be well spent?

Would you be embarrassed if someone found out what you did…or didn’t do?

Is this in alignment with reaching my goals?

These are questions that can be asked hundreds of times a day, anywhere from stopping at a fast food drive-thru for something to eat on the road on the way to work in the morning, checking personal e-mail at work, and all the way up to watching the 11 o’clock news at night before going to sleep.

Since I started asking these questions, I have changed some of my “bad” habits…sometimes…and I have created “good” habits…sometimes. I admit I am still working on remembering to ask the questions, but when I do, I become more conscious of my actions.

As we start the New Year, I hope that asking these questions will help you to fulfill any resolutions that you may have because, deep down in your gut, you already know the answers. Trust your instincts. Trust your power. Trust yourself.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

Leave a Reply

