Zapped


In seeing another blog referring to an inspirational song I was reminded of one that I have known by heart since shortly after its release in the ’70s. I’ve noticed of late, the abundance of “old” songs that had messages that were ahead of their time or that tried to show us the truth. Who knew what the 5th Dimension was other than a musical group? Who knew that they were singing about the times that are now upon us?

John Lennon had many messages that still resonate today, years after his passing. There were many inspirations but what was brought to my mind was more of a cautionary song. It was true at the time and  that truth is so apparent now. The fact that I still remember it completely, says a lot to me about the level of conditioning that is going on with advertising and how long its effects last, unbeknownst to most of us.

The song I’m referring to was a cult classic by Frank Zappa and the Mother’s of Invention. It was on the Overnight Sensation album that was released in Sept. of ’73 by this time next year it will be 40 yrs old but its message is just as accurate as it is glaring. It’s titled I Am the Slime, if you’re a child of the 60’s or older you may remember it. If not You Tube can fill in the tune for you but the words are these:

I Am the Slime

I am gross and perverted

I’m obsessed and deranged

I have existed for years but very little has changed

I’m the tool of the government and industry too

For I am destined to rule and regulate you

I may be vile and pernicious but you can’t look away

I make you think I’m delicious with the stuff that I say

I’m the best you can get, have you guess me yet?

I’m the slime oozing out of your TV set

You will obey me will I lead you

With the garbage that I feed you

Til the day that we don’t need you

Don’t go for help no one will heed you!

Your mind is totally controlled

It has been stuffed into my mold

And you will do as you are told

Until the rights to you are sold

That’s right folks don’t touch that dial….

The lyrics go on from there but you get the point. It is more true now than it ever has been. The conditioning that is going on via the TV set goes deeper than most of us imagine. I’ll give you some examples. Can you finish these sentences? Mm good, Mm good, that’s what ___________  ____ is Mm good.     ____ ____s, melts in your mouth, not in your hands. Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun. . . who can tell me what the sandwich is called and what fast food restaurant offered it? Anybody? Everybody? At least Americans over 20 will probably know it off the top of their head and these ad campaigns haven’t been used in years.

The media spews fears we should subscribe to about all the lack they have created the perception of in the world. We are inundated with messages about an incorrect assumption made by Darwin, and subscribed to for years, despite evidence to the contrary, that this is a survival of the fittest world. We are told that we should ask our doctor about drugs that are poisonous without even mentioning what their value might be. The same ads spend more than half their time telling us why not to take them and people still line up and demand that their doctors prescribe the latest thing like prescriptions are a status symbol and somehow desirable.

I went to the dental hygienist recently for a cleaning and she thought her computer was malfunctioning because it wouldn’t tell her what surgeries I’d had or what prescriptions I was on. I had no prescriptions and had not surgeries. She looked at me mystified and said, “That’s different to hear!” It is so alarming to me that it is uncommon for a 51 yr old woman to not be taking drugs and not have been dissected. I give the credit to hearing the messages like Frank Zappa offered us.

I do not subscribe to the idea that we must color, spray, coat and alter ourselves on a daily basis to make our appearance acceptable to others and use toxic substances to do it. I don’t agree that the latest chemical offering is what I should run out and buy at the new improved price to fill my home with it and spread the poison and waste among my family. I don’t agree that we have a “health” care system unless it is to cater to the health of the bank account of the powers that feed from it. Health care is food. Not GMO, synthesized, modified, canned remains with a bright label and a high price tag. I don’t agree that the opinion of others should have importance in my life and steer my actions.

I do believe that growing a garden is one of the best ways to be proactive for our own health and the health of our families. I do believe that exercise is essential to our well being. I do believe the word no, is a word our children should be acquainted with and that we should say it to ourselves when appropriate. I do believe that its better to repurpose when possible rather than buying new. I do believe what Einstein said about the imagination being the most important thing.

I am imagining a world where being entertained is not the top priority. I am imagining a world where people question what’s offered and refuse to support with words, actions or money, the things that don’t make sense and are unsustainable for humanity and this planet. I am imagining a world where we look back at the last few decades as a time to be learned from so we do not repeat the behaviors that brought us to this place of “crisis” because we will have already changed and no longer require it as an evolutionary driver. I am imagining a world where everyone imagines themselves to be a cell in this organism called humanity and that its parts don’t compete with or undermine each other. I am imagining a world where everyone understands that we must care for ourselves first so that our joy can overflow to those who will naturally be drawn to it. Where each person feels empowered to stand in their truth without hesitation.  Please join me!

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

Preferable entertainment Photo by Vicki Willoughby

This entry was posted in Women by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 32and 12 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 15 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 10 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

3 thoughts on “Zapped

Leave a Reply

