THE BEAUTY OF SOAKING IN A LANGUAGE BATH


Please enjoy this encore release

THE BEAUTY OF SOAKING IN A LANGUAGE BATH
by Kara Johnstad

We feel it in our heart beat, our footsteps, our breath, we are rhythmic and cyclical beings. We have our own inner “drum” going on all the time. Well, at least I do. Even when I am sitting for my daily meditation or sitting at the piano, deep diving into my morning writing sessions with Mr. Steinway, I can always tune into my heartbeat. On some days my heart is moving quicker than normal and on other days there is a slowness, a “hey take it easy, it’s a rainy fall day and there is no need to rush, only a need for a deep hush” as you tune in.

“Walking rhythm sound

Splashing, slapping, ground

Thoughts are flying,

Overlying

Where is it that I’m bound?”

So many people ask me, where do you find the lines for your lyrics?Where do you gather ideas or get inspiration for your songs?

These are the first lines of my song “Open Up and Receive” and every time I sing them in concert I am reminded of that long autumn weekend I spent in Paris.

I walked for hours through the little cobblestone streets and loved that I had no idea what was being talked about or said. Yes it had been on my list for years to learn French, and yes, I am sure like many of you, I signed up for a course at college. Later in 2009, having my management in Paris and working on my Le Grand Love Project, I swore I would finally learn this wonderful language and downloaded, the “dailyfrenchpod” which I carried around in my pocket and plugged into my ears while at the airports or in the gym.

Did I manage? Well I managed what I would call, LANGUAGE BATHS. 

I started to absorb colors and rhythms with the innocence of a child. I arrived at Charles De Gaulle Airport, got picked up and whisked off to Hotel Bourg Tibourg, one of the quaintest hotels I have ever stayed in, climbed out of the cab, through the brass doors into the carpeted lobby and said confidently Bonjour, Monsieur”. That was it! I had mastered Good Day! Smiling I realized that I now had to improvise and draw on other ways to express myself and was thrilled to find myself once again in that open, receptive state of childlike innocence. And yes, with no other word or sound other than “Bonjour” to break the silence, it was the smiles and gestures that got me a key to the second floor nice single room and a map of the local attractions. Skipping up the stairs I blurted out “Merci!” and grinned. Ahhhhh, the beauty of it all! I understood NOTHING and it was pure bliss to fall into the lilt of a language and in love with a city only by listening to the sounds and absorbing the sites. Paris is now the place I go when I want to to run away for a few days with a good book of poems and the latest novel and my journals.

So, how can you too get the pleasure of taking a language bath
if you don’t have time for a weekend trip?

The world is coming closer and closer together, and I love playing with language. It is not always possible for me to book a flight to Paris, or spend time in another of my favorite cities Rome. So, with the internet taking a more dominant role in our lives, I have figured out how to take language baths by playing one of my favorite games that I call “Radio Tarot”.

I have a map of the world in the kitchen. Then I close my eyes and count to three and point my finger to a country and then through internet radio find a good station. Try it. Not only is it relaxing, it reconnects us automatically to our inner child.  

Last week I was in India  listening to Punjabi and yesterday I went off to Iceland. This way we capture the essence, the rhythms, the sound of the world and we come back to that lovely space of listening to our inner voice. When listening to sounds that we can not yet explain or analyze, other spaces start to open up. Curiosity appears out of nowhere, we become more playful and creativity abounds. Suddenly we rush out to buy some fresh coriander and decide instead of baking a pizza to try making Roomali Roti for dinner.


Stay Gold,

Kara

P.S.: Wanna dip your senses into some foreign sounds?

French         
Indian       
Japanese       
Italian        

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Kara Johnstad is a creative visionary, transformational catalyst and a powerful voice in the time and age of transition. She is a singer / songwriter, creator of The Essence Radio Show™, and founder of the Voice Your Essence Mastery Program™. If you liked today’s article, you’ll also enjoy listening to Kara’s soulful music as part of your daily ritual of reconnecting to source or jump onto the next level and experience personally the power of your true authentic voice with Kara Johnstad’s Voice Your Essence™Mastery Program. If you are ready to take your voice and your world to the next level,  you can sign up for a F.R.E.E. subscription of her weekly eZine at http://www.karajohnstad.com.

This entry was posted in Women by karajohnstad. Bookmark the permalink.

About karajohnstad

Kara Johnstad is a creative visionary, transformational catalyst and a powerful voice in the time and age of transition. She is a singer / songwriter, creator of The Essence Radio Show™, and founder of the Voice Your Essence™ Mastery Program. Leading change agents, healers, personal development speakers and others recognize her as being a unique source of powerful truth and wisdom. As a top voice expert she has helped thousands with her "break-through" voice techniques and shares with us the secrets behind this powerful instrument and the role the human voice plays in fine tuning our Mind-Body-Spirit systems. Kara connects each and every week with subscribers from around the world via her Voice Your Essence™ eZine. Enjoy listening to Kara's soulful music as part of your daily ritual of reconnecting to source or jump onto the next level and experience personally the power of your true authentic voice with Kara Johnstad's VoiceYour Essence™ Mastery Program

6 thoughts on “THE BEAUTY OF SOAKING IN A LANGUAGE BATH

  1. Kara, what a great idea! I took French in high school, always dreaming of a time when I would go there, and now that I am meeting so many wonderful people through social networking on the Internet, I have many other places I want to go. You have shown me how I can experience my dreams without leaving home…for now. Thank you so much for this 🙂

  2. absolutely love love love this idea, I spent hours last Summer listening to a San Francisco station, not another language, but literally miles away from the dark rainy summer here and it instantly put me in a California beach vibe as I wrote my thesis or did my housework. Love it, thank you. xx

  3. This morning I decided Paris was the place, so I listen to the news in French and then started to coach my VOICE YOUR ESSENCE master class in German and at the end of the morning had lunch in English while sitting in Berlin:)

    • I liked that so much. I did not got a single word. What language was that Loesja? This is story of most of us. It seems like it should happen anywhere all the time… Sometimes true love is so near than we can even notice for we looked for it elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

