My 2012 Christmas Prayer


I don’t want to sound like scrooge but….

I saw something on facebook recently that had a picture of people pushing and shoving themselves into a store and said something like ‘Only in America can we spend one day being thankful for all we have and the next practically killing each other to buy more stuff.’

Isn’t that the truth? And so we shake our heads and smirk and then keep scrolling, right? But I think this point deserves more consideration than that. At what point do we stop the madness?

In the days leading up to Thanksgiving the local news was showing a clip of a line of people camping outside an electronics store waiting for the “Black Friday” sales. They were lined up to shop DAYS BEFORE Thanksgiving. One guy interviewed said his wife was going to bring his plate of turkey dinner to him so he could keep his place in line. When did Thanksgiving stop being about gratitude so much that it could be substituted by a dinner of leftovers eaten miles away from family in a shopping line?

And stores are putting out Christmas tree decorations as soon as they pull the Halloween leftovers from the shelf. And Christmas music is on the radio before we even sit down to Thanksgiving dinner to herald in the “holiday season.” This is shortened from saying the “holiday shopping season.”

It would be really hypocritical of me to stand on some sort of pedestal and point fingers as if I weren’t already knee deep in my own “holiday shopping.” But I would like to think that I am not part of the craziness that mandates outrageous spending with all the thrills and frills that accompany it all to buy more “stuff” we really don’t need. It feels to me at this point like taking a bite of cake that is so loaded with super sweet frosting that I want to spit it out as I wallow it around in my mouth. I shove it down, but I don’t like it and I set it aside, unable to eat anymore.

At what point do we rebel against the media blitz and shove the cake aside and come to our senses? How is it that we don’t have the extra spending money to help those starving souls in the street but we can buy that extra sweater or toy or whatever for our own family who already has more than they need?

Why are we stuck in this insane pattern?

At what point do we do more than cluck our tongues about the violence in the Middle East and then flip the channel?

We MUST wake up!

This is posted on the Sister Giant webpage and is a quote from Senator Mark Hatfield:

“We stand by as children starve by the millions because we lack the will to eliminate hunger. Yet we have found the will to develop missiles capable of flying over the polar cap and landing within a few hundred feet of their target. This is not innovation. It is a profound distortion of humanity’s purpose on earth.”

Marianne Williamson said this recently while also talking about the Sister Giant project:

“As we awaken individually, we will act more powerfully collectively; legislation and political campaigns will embody a new kind of thinking only if we engage en masse. In the absence of our engaging the political system, we allow it to become something other than what we are. That in fact is what has happened, but it’s also what we can change. For what we engage, we transform.  And what we engage with our hearts is transformed forever.”

I’m not saying I have the answers. I’m just saying that we have to stop accepting things the way they are and question what kind of change we can bring about both individually and collectively.

I will still modestly shop for Christmas gifts and will continue to allow my youngest to believe in the magic of Santa Clause and flying reindeer, but adults, there HAS to be something MORE.

I think we are approaching something much bigger than a “fiscal cliff” and while I’m not joining in any doomsday predictions hovering around December 21, 2012, I do honestly believe that if we do not change our thinking, habits, and behavior, eventually..and maybe not even for a few centuries more….but eventually I feel sure we will kill each other off as a species. It IS up to us to BE THE CHANGE.

Here is my prayer for each of us. I am making it up as I go but I’ll keep it short as this blog is preachy enough and already too long to hold the interest of many.

Dear God, let us each wake up from the nightmares we are creating and remember we are each connected one to the other right down to the cellular level. Let us take pause in the coming weeks to release the shackles around our hearts and go forward with a new purpose that is focused on loving and caring for each other more than we attend to the sales circulars and media blitz of this “holiday season.”

Dear God, help us to remember who we are and why we are here. There is so much work to be done. Help us to remember our power through spiritual unity and ACT on it.

And so it is.

Amen.

Christmas_prayer : The hands of Jesus in clasped in prayer

http://www.123rf.com/stock-photo/christmas_prayer.html

3 thoughts on “My 2012 Christmas Prayer

Leave a Reply

