Learning To Let Go


If you love something, let it go free…. You must learn to let go of the things you fear to lose…. The less attachment you feel the more your life can flow….

We often cling to things and people – our lovers, children, possessions, friends, money, our bodies – health, image, youth. We cling and hang on for dear life, absolutely terrified of losing these precious blessings and gifts. Spiritual teaching tells us to completely let go. To let go utterly of all these desires and attachments. To be. To simply be. It is only relatively recently that I am embracing this concept. I worked it quite admirably a couple of years ago when I began deep soul work. First and foremost I let go of all the expectations I had of myself, all the shoulds, all the regrets, all the pain, self-pity, resentment and bitterness. Wow I let go of a lot. I read an analogy once that really struck  a chord, imagine you are a hot air balloon, in order to soar you need to keep dropping all those sand bags…I dropped one sand bag after another and my life began to change. I changed my perception as much as anything. My view of myself and my life.

Now I find myself in a new situation. I am in the process of manifesting my dreams. On a good day, I can smell them, almost literally. I can feel myself in the place I want to be. This gives me great joy and inspiration. The thing is where I want to be is almost literally a million miles away from where I am, certainly in a geographical and physical sense. Emotionally and spiritually I am where I need to be, most of the time, but sometimes the physical longing to be somewhere else makes me feel deflated and lonesome.  Mind chatter and practicalities, fear and worries can pervade at times…

I could give in to this chatter and all the inane shadowy ego fear based thoughts….

A lot of stress and fear and anxiety comes from fervently wishing you were, ‘someplace else instead’.

Erkhart Tolle says, if you don’t like where you are or the situation you are in, then change it or accept it. Sounds simple and straight forward, but what if you are in transition? You have a lot of dreams and plans coming to fruition…but they are just out of your grasp?

I don’t necessarily know the answer to this but I think the answer lies in mindfulness and remaining in the present moment. Remaining grateful for all that surrounds you.  The birds singing, the warmth of the duvet, the light through the blinds in the morning, the laughter of my children, the taste of good food, the love of friends.

Little by little the Universe turns to face you, it shows you and delights you and quite literally your dreams begin to come true in front of your very eyes – whether that be the true love, the financial abundance,  the new home, the new country, the peace, the good vibrations…I have weaved a life of love and luck out of broken dreams – and it is all based in letting go…..So dear hearts, I urge you, let go every day – and keep your dreams fresh, stay in faith and wonder and you will create a heaven on earth.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

 Dr. Ellen Anne Burns is an actress, writer, mother, teacher, and student, not necessarily in that order. She was brought up in Belfast, Northern Ireland, where she has just completed her PhD in Applied Drama. She believes in a holistic spiritual practice, involving meditation, self love and discovery, learning and practicing forgiveness, gratitude and love every day. Ellen wishes to support and guide others on their own journey of self and love, especially with a view to romantic relationships. She is a mentor on Gabrielle Bernstein’s HerFuture.com and is thrilled to be one of the founders members of The Daily Sisterhood Blog. If you wish to contact Ellen, please message her here, and she will respond as soon as she can.

11 thoughts on “Learning To Let Go

  1. Exactly what I needed to hear this morning… and …not only me… ;-)…
    Yes, I will build my dreams by letting go! There is no other way … especially in transition times… I promise it to myself and to the world! Thank you Ellen! ❤

  2. Love this Ellen! Well done. I find for me, manifestation only works when, there is no place to be and there is nothing to get. In manifestation you already have it and you are already where you want to be. So i agree that means you have to let go, but not of your dreams, but of your reality. Your manifestation has to become your reality for that time. Well thats what works for me anyway :-).
    Keep up the great work.
    Much love,
    Nuala C xx

    • thanks Nuala! Absolutely agree. That is why gratitude is so important. And we must focus on what we have, not what we ‘want’ – as that transpires as a feeling of lack of ‘not’ having it! So true that we already have it. We have to see past the false illusions of what we perceive as ‘reality’ in order to bring what is already ours into a new reality – the true one. xx Takes practice too.

  3. Ellen, your offering as always, is deep, heart felt and right on time for me this morning. Feeling so privileged to be a part of what is real, NOW for all of us! Thank you for this!

    • thanks sister! Love it when an offering strikes a chord. It is definitely about being present and grateful in the moment, right now while also planning and joyfully anticipating future dreams and blessings – and that is the trick! xx

    • Delighted it resonated Leah. I don’t think we can really move forward until we let go of all the gumf from the past and so on…and I find letting go needs to be a daily practice too – always more layers to uncover and release. xx

Leave a Reply

