Reconciling my Christian Faith with my Spiritual Journey


This weekend my partner and I attended 75th anniversary celebrations for the church my parents attend and where I attended until I was a young adult.  The church I am a part of now is an offshoot of this congregation.  After attending a casual evening of music, I commented on seeing all these people, many who I hadn’t seen in a while, and the comfort I felt with that.

My partner asked me how I reconcile Christian beliefs with the spiritual journey I am on now.  It is a challenge for me to answer that question in words.  It is one area I don’t spend a lot of energy trying to figure out.  The church that I am a part of is part of my roots.  It provides me with a foundation and is one of the “families” I am a part of.  It is a place that is familiar, comfortable and safe.

It is easier for me at this point in my journey to see Jesus as a Spiritual Archetype or Ascended Master than a human being.  Sometimes I am uncomfortable with the language of the church, and yet I still find a place there.

On occasion, when I am driving in my car and decide to sing a song, the first song that comes to me, is a Christian song I learned as a teenager:

“They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength
They shall mount up with wings as eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint,
Teach me Lord, Teach me Lord to wait.

Teach me Lord to wait, down on my knees
‘til in your own good time you answer my pleas,
Teach me not to rely on what others do,
but to wait in pray for an answer from you.”

I am often drawn to the familiar hymns and music I grew up with.

As I reflect on this question, one doesn’t necessarily have to be about “this” or “that”.  There doesn’t need to be separation.  What is more important to me now, is moving from one experience to another to continue to deepen my connection with Spirit and create opportunities to expand my consciousness and participate in the expansion of global consciousness to facilitate healing and positive change in our world.  When I move into this space, I don’t feel the need to find the words to bring these aspects of myself and my history together.  It is all connected. It is all part of my transformation and evolution. It all shapes who I am.  It is my story, both the human and spiritual.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner and Certified ThetaHealer® www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and now ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

Leave a Reply

