Be careful what you wish for…


Please enjoy this encore release of Laura’s wisdom.

Have you ever thought of an invention but didn’t have the financial resources or the knowledge of how to actually build or create it…or what to do with it if you did? Then, sometime down the road, you saw it on the market? This has happened to me a couple of times.

The first time, I was in my early 20’s. I grew up watching my mom carefully plan her wardrobe for the day. She even coordinated her shoes and purses to match her outfit, which required her to change purses quite often. One day we were running late for an appointment, but she still insisted that she needed to change her purse over. Frustrated at the notion of being late because of a purse, I remember thinking how much easier it would be if she just needed to change the outside of her purse over a universal inside compartment.

A few years later, I saw my idea manifested into a product that was being advertised in one of my favorite magazines by someone else. I was shocked, and really kind of upset that I hadn’t taken my idea further. I remember feeling like my idea had been stolen, which was totally impossible because it was just a fleeting thought, nothing I had actually even told anyone about.

10 years passed, and I was now a single parent of three children.  I was doing laundry and, while I was hanging up what felt like thousands of shirts and dresses with buttons and hundreds more t-shirts, I had an idea for a collapsible hanger that would allow me to hang clothes up and remove them without stretching t-shirt necklines or unbuttoning buttons. This one took over 20 years to manifest, but I found that someone had invented the exact idea and was selling them on an invention website I was sent to by one of my Facebook friends who was promoting her invention.

The feeling I had this time was quite different than the first one. My spiritual journey had led me to recognize that many of the things that have happened to me over the course of my life I had either wished for or chose to focus on, both good and bad. This time, I laughed and said out loud, “It’s about time. I have been waiting for many years to get those hangers.”

Situations like these have shown me that I must be prepared to accept the consequences of my thoughts as well as those of my actions. They have given me a clearer understanding of just how connected we all really are. The fact that someone else invented something I merely had a thought about proves that we are not alone even within the confines of our minds, so I feel compelled to ask you a question. What are your thoughts bringing into your life? Are they bringing order or chaos? Joy or sadness? Love or fear? This is a reminder to be careful what you wish for because it may come true. I know. I have seen it. Have you?

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

 

6 thoughts on “Be careful what you wish for…

  1. That’s an outstanding article. I do my best to focus on the good things in life. Learn from what once was. I have been in your shoes, I’ll save my tale for another day. 😉

    Nice Work Laura Mozer Davis!!

  2. In my experiences with wishes I found that when I wish something in a way that all my feelings are in agreement with what I wish it happens fast and in ways I could not even imagine. Only thinking what I wish doesn’t bring the same effect. I recognise a pattern in your story : you needed not to be late, you needed an easier way to hang your laundry… anything I felt that I really needed deep in my soul and I expressed it in my thoughts – with no restrictions – happended easily . One day I was so frustrated about having to manage things by myself in my life most of the time, while taking care of others. I decided : the next new person coming into my life will be someone taking care of me! The next thing that happended was that I rented a spare room in my house to someone who came looking for a job in my country from the other side of the world! He stayed for 3 mhonths and gladly fixed everything that needed fixing in my house. It was the first one who gave without taking ! I realised that it was me who had wished that so deeply for the first time in my life! So I try finding out what I wish so deeply that there are no more restrictions left… thank you for reminding me the practice … I wasn’t exercising it latley 🙂 !

Leave a Reply

