A miracle as a shift in perception


Please enjoy this encore post.

Disney World is touted as one of the happiest places on earth. We only lived a couple hours away from Orlando at the time and my husband and I had purchased annual passes to the theme parks. Our kids were aged 7 and 4 at the time. We borrowed his parents’ camper and went to stay the weekend at Fort Wilderness, the Disney campground right outside the theme park.

Shortly after our arrival, my husband stayed at the site to get the camper ready for inhabitants and I took the kids to the nearby playground. It was a beautiful afternoon and they needed to have time to run around after being cooped up in the car for so long.  Having not been there before I was still just taking in the sights and sounds while the kids climbed on the jungle gym. I turned to look behind me and there was the most amazing peacock standing in the middle of the road.

I started to tell the kids to look quickly at the beauty of this creature when a car slowly approached the same spot where the bird was standing and I relished in the communion of sharing this beauty with strangers. The family in the car stopped and got out to take pictures of the peacock. I could hear them ooohing and ahhing, marveling at the size and colors of the peacock’s feathers. For just a couple of minutes I was part of that family, each of us sharing in the simple joy of recognizing this beauty in one of God’s creatures.

Eventually, the family got back in their car and slowly drove around the bird toward the park’s single entry/ exit. I was still smiling and feeling really peaceful and grateful, full of that sense that all was right with the world.

Suddenly, another car came, speeding to the same spot where the peacock was still standing. This time, the people in the car did not get out. They yelled expletives and screamed at the peacock to get out of the way. I could clearly see the driver’s balled up fist waving in the air. The peacock just looked at him, completely ambivalent to the chaos and did not move. The car swerved and barely missed the bird as it drove away.

I stood there, with my mouth open and recognized for the first time that I was witness to something much more than a bird in the road. The peacock reacted exactly the same to both cars and yet the people in each of those cars reacted to the peacock so completely differently. It was the same road, same bird, and yet such different points of view.  My own children were not more than 20 feet away and were so busy playing that they had missed the whole thing.

That was one of my first aha moments when I began to understand the power of personal perception and how important it is to pay attention and create our own realities.

Years later, I am now learning to recognize the miracles as they occur in my life every day.

“Miracles are examples of right thinking, aligning your perceptions with truth as God created it.”

“Miracles transcend the body. They are sudden shifts into invisibility, away from the bodily level. That is why they heal.

~  A Course in Miracles

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I am a 42 year old mother of 3, living in Florida with my partner and youngest child. Like the mythological phoenix, I have been reborn out of the ashes of my former way of life and have, for the last several years, set out on an exploration of self expression through visual art and creative writing. I am immensely grateful to feel a part of every living thing in existence and the emergence of a growing evolution of consciousness within and throughout. I am interested in all aspects of energy healing and spiritual transformation and have just recently become a student of Reiki. I understand there is always a choice and I try to choose love over fear at every turn. I am grateful for all of the other women in this group and for their ever present support and guidance. Jennifer Bothast

 

6 thoughts on “A miracle as a shift in perception

  1. beautiful. Reminds me of a quote I read –
    the long version
    Everybody lies sometimes. Even winners have to lose. Doors they work both ways. Even blind men have to choose. Whether they’re gonna wake up with a smile on their face, just because they can’t see don’t mean they can’t sing. It’s up to you to find beauty in the ugliest days. Don’t you waste your life waiting for it to change, just put on your dancing shoes and dance those cares away. -Chad Sugg

    I wonder what I see as a roadblock today that I could see as a peacock if I step a bit more into creativity, awe, gratitude…

  2. “That sense that all was right with the world” This line really touched me… since I have that feeling sometimes and when I do, I appreciate it as a gift, as a treasure, it is like a drug that keeps me high and makes me feel powerful, like i own my world and decide where my life goes… leaving my fears behind… thank u for sharing!

  3. This is a wonderful way to show how important it is to slow down and smell the roses. I think the people in the second car may have been running late for something they perceived as more important than a bird in the road. Either that, or they had seen many more peacocks than the people in the first car, so to them it was no big deal. Either way, the lesson I learned here is from the peacock. Its reaction was the same to both the passive and the aggressive. It was just there, standing in the road…being. Thank you so much for sharing this lesson. 🙂

  4. Thank you all for sharing your thoughts about this first piece. Its so gratifying to appreciate this experience has touched others in a way similar to mine..that it remains with me all these years later. It is one of those times in my life..even though this actual event occured in only a short span of time.. it unveiled a measure of truth that changed how I looked at everything else thereafter. It was my first significant “Aha!”

Leave a Reply

