Tomorrow is an illusion…


I am a procrastinator.

There are so many things I want to do…so many things I need to do…but there are two things that hold me back: fear of success and fear of failure.

I sometimes procrastinate by not finishing projects I have started.

The projects I left unfinished are because of my fear of success. If the project is successful, what do I do then? Other people may expect me to be successful with the next project, which might not be the case. There’s nothing worse than losing once you’ve tasted success.

I sometimes procrastinate by not starting projects at all.

The projects I don’t start are because of my fear of failure. If I start it and it fails to live up to my expectations, I probably wouldn’t want to start something else. No one likes to lose.

I used to think being a procrastinator was a bad thing until I read somewhere that procrastinators are really perfectionists. That made total sense to me.

I like to have all my ducks in a row…even if it’s just in my mind…before starting something.

Sometimes it takes just a few hours or a day, sometimes it takes weeks, and sometimes it takes years.

So many times I put off until tomorrow what I could have done today. The problem with that is that when I wake up it’s now today again. Tomorrow is an illusion. It only exists in my mind. So everything that needs to be done today still needs to be done today.

I think I’ll just let go of the fear and do what I can today. The project will either fail or succeed despite my fears, but at least I will learn something.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE? Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

My name is Laura Mozer Davis, and I was born over half a century ago. My life’s journey has included raising three children as a single parent while caring for my parents who both became disabled during the last 10 years of their lives. Now that my children are grown and my parents have passed into the next part of their journey, I finally have time for me to grow as a person, not as just a care-giver. What I am learning, however, is that my destiny is to always be a care-giver. When I started writing for The Daily Sisterhood blog, I realized that I was to continue my care-giving through my writing. If my words help even just one person find either solace or joy, I know my life continues to have meaning.

Leave a Reply

