My September Fasting Weekend – Animals and Spirits


At Bannock Point, Manitoba – Photo by Leah Schroeder

When my partner and I arrived at the sacred site for our fast, we were greeted by a little red fox.  This small animal and the man who was looking after us knew each other.  He followed us in as we went to choose the spots where we would spend the weekend.

Later that evening as I was preparing my site, the little red fox entered inside the border of my site.  He came within a couple feet of me.  I was sitting by the little fire I made, smudging sage, sweet grass and cedar.  He had a reputation for stealing people’s socks, so we were warned not to leave anything outside that he could run off with.  A short time later he scurried off.  He came back the next night around the same time for another visit.

Earlier when we arrived, it was brought to our attention that as we walked into the area, three groups of seven geese flew over us.  As you may recall from a previous post, these numbers are symbols of spiritual or divine fullness, perfection, and completion.  It was an affirmation that we were supposed to be there.

A little chipmunk visited me a couple of times.  It wanted to play with me.  One time it snuck up behind me, within inches of my back to try to sneak some sage from the plate I use for smudging.  A short time later it came back.  This time it came within a few feet of me, looking at me as if it wanted to play a game with me.

Of course, I had a lot of dragonflies around me all weekend.  I was grateful for the beautiful weather that allowed them to be out in such abundance.  A few times, they landed on the ground right beside where I was sitting and just rested there for a while.  I always see dragonflies as affirmations for me.

When I spent some time with the other women, as we listened to singing and drumming, sometimes birds flew overhead and landed in the trees close by, singing along with the songs.  Sometimes there were large black birds circling around, maybe crows or ravens.

The first night, and again the following morning, we heard a large bird fly by.  It was so loud you could hear the beating of its wings, like the blades of a helicopter starting up.  My partner inquired about this and was told it was the spirits trying to scare us away.

On Saturday morning, one of the women asked if I was walking around on the rocks the night before.  I let her know I hadn’t.  She said it must have been Sabay (sasquatch) walking around.  All of us women heard something walking around that night.  I was told that when there is a mist there, Sabay is often near.  In the evening she sang songs to honour Sabay and called out to this spiritual creature. First Nations people love Sabay.  It is believed that Sabay works for the spirits, looks for medicine and takes care of the land.

Even though I was in a tent by myself, I had no fear.  I felt safe and protected.  I knew I was not alone.  All these amazing connections confirmed that this experience was divinely inspired.  I was sharing space with the Sacred.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner and Certified ThetaHealer® www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and now ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder and tagged , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

2 thoughts on “My September Fasting Weekend – Animals and Spirits

  1. Awesome Leah! Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so caught up in our belongings and responsibilities we lack what used to be commonplace, the communion with nature and our creator. Nice to go there vicariously.

  2. I can not tell if this will be a comment or a reply to Vicki’s post. However, it was the only response to ‘comment.’ I just wanted to thank Leah for sharing her experience. It sounds very rewarding.

    I remember my own my vision quest and the hours of meditation in each of the four directions. A small squirrel would occasionally sneak up behind behind me to rummage through the sack in which I carried water and fruit. This little bandito as well as a family of Red Headed Woodpeckers were a distraction but a very enjoyable part of my spiritual quest.

Leave a Reply

