What if?


There is a lot of hullabaloo about December 21, 2012 and a great shift afoot. I don’t know how invested I am in any of these transformative theories, but it does pose some interesting questions. The whole thing reminds me of a T-shirt slogan I saw a couple years ago:

“What if the hokey pokey IS what it’s all about?”

What if those crazy looking people with those handmade posters declaring “The End is Near” are finally about to be right? For that matter, what if the end of life as you know it is scheduled to end tomorrow..or today? What would you do differently? Anything?

Are you living your passion? Are you putting life off until something big changes and so you are spiritually on hold and just going through the motions?

To quote a TV talk show host from a few years ago, this is just “something to make you go hmmmmm.”

What is your passion?

What would you do with your life to feel more fulfilled? Creative?

How many of us are truly living the life of our dreams and if not then why not?

What fears hold us back?

I think these are important questions we should be frequently asking ourselves. This is what happens when you start to wake up and you realize it isn’t enough to lazily roll from one day to the next. And it’s not like I have the answers. I don’t even think there ARE sets of answers.

We make choices every day, each of us in our own way and with our own set of motivations. I think maybe a key would be in figuring out what the motivations are for each choice and working to change those that don’t fit your ideals.

I often write these blogs as messages to myself, so I apologize if they come off as preachy. You should understand I am telling myself as much as any reader to question motives, consider each decision. Start small..what did I have for breakfast? What did I think about while waiting at that traffic light? How did I handle speaking with that person in the elevator?

Not going through the motions and paying attention to what drives us is important if we want to start living our intentions and making each moment count.

Give it some thought.

Send up a prayer for guidance, but be ready to accept an answer that is hard to follow.

Today might be all we have… Might as well make it a good one.

“Divinity in Light and Shadow”
original acrylic on canvas painting by Jennifer Bothast

2 thoughts on “What if?

Leave a Reply

