Life Lessons from…A Mouse?


I recently experienced a weekend of intense energy work, when I took a ThetaHealing® course to become a certified ThetaHealer®.  The days following, I could feel changes happening in my body as this new energy integrated with my cells and my body went through a detoxification process.

One of the things I was keenly aware of during the course was my heightened sensitivity to other people’s emotions.  Some people develop visual intuitive abilities – seeing pictures or words in their mind to see what is going on in another person and within themselves.  For me, at least so far, my abilities have been more of a feeling. For example, I could feel someone’s migraine.

I knew from the personal session I had a couple of weeks earlier that I had some emotion to release.  For some reason it came in the form of a cold virus instead of tears or laughter.  I knew that would come eventually…and it did.

One afternoon, a few days after this course, I heard a small noise in the corner of my living room.  The owner of my building had an exterminator come by almost a year ago due to an ongoing issue with mice.  One of the methods used to deal with them was to place some pads with a sticky substance on them around my apartment and all through the building (I do not recommend this).  I have not seen any mice since then, until this day. The sound came from a mouse caught on one of these pads.

I instantly felt such deep compassion for this little creature, I sent it some Reiki energy, and activated Theta to command that this little mouse be released from suffering NOW!!! But it continued to live.  I carried it outside so I wouldn’t have to hear its cries for help.  But I needed to pass by it several times as I was doing some chores and every time it was like it was crying out “HELP ME!!!”.  I tried to free it.  When I realized that I wouldn’t be able to, I said I was sorry to the mouse, sat down close by and became filled with grief.  I went back in my apartment and began to sob.  I didn’t have it in me to take its life.

I did finally choose to free it from suffering, but it was done out of compassion.  I knew in my heart I did all that I could and I felt a weight lift from me when its spirit was finally released.

There are two things about this story.  One is that this was the trigger I needed to release the emotions that were waiting below the surface to come out.  In this way I can see this mouse as a gift??

The other is that as I continue to learn and expand my consciousness, I am becoming more and more aware and sensitive to my connection with and the sacredness of all things… including that little mouse.

A Sacred Place – Photo by Leah Schroeder

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner and Certified ThetaHealer® www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki and now ThetaHealing®. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

This entry was posted in Women by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

4 thoughts on “Life Lessons from…A Mouse?

  1. this is so beautiful Leah. I really empathise. I even find it hard if a little fly gets caught in the sink. Yesterday evening one was flailing around and I just quickly drowned it to put it out of its misery, but it didn’t feel good. Even though part of me was, it’s only a teeny tiny fly! But yes, we are all one, we are all connected an no living thing deserves to suffer at the will of another.

  2. Another thoughtful story. It’s a hard decision to know when to step out of another’s process. You definitely don’t want to share your cozy apartment with a mouse (family) …or do you? You don’t want to have to be the one who kills it…but it is difficult to witness the suffering.
    This happens to us with our own species. How many times do you find your self witnessing someone else suffering. Do you step in to save them or allow them the process of the lesson. This is a lot of what Buddhist teaching is about.

  3. Pingback: Fables - good for life's lessons

Leave a Reply

