The Story Behind my Newest Single “Soullines”


THE STORY BEHIND MY NEW SINGLE “SOULLINES”
Twin-flames and untangling red threads

By Kara Johnstad

“Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”
Emily Brontë

There comes a time in each person’s life when they come face to face with their soulmate. It is one of the most mind blowing and yet strangely familiar moments I have ever experienced. A moment which transcends time or space.

They look up and see sky and look down and see a red thread tied snugly around their ankles. It was invisible all these years. Always there, and yet never really noticed. Until one day, a day which had started just like all other days, a page in the big leather bound “Book of Fate” is turned and everything stops. Even breath has forgotten to move in and out.

A gap…………………A big gap…………………Time stands still.

Looking back I remember every single detail of this chance meeting. It was bedtime in Berlin. The lights had already been turned off. The day had started just like all other days, only today instead of closing the book and turning off the lights, a new chapter would begin. I could sense it, I looked down at my small feet and my little crooked pinky toe, and a red thread dangled from my ankle. Yuè Xià Lǎo (月下老, often abbreviated to “Yuèlǎo” [月老]), the old lunar matchmaker, was playing tricks on me. An ancient chinese legend says,

“Two people connected by the red thread are destined lovers,
regardless of time, place, or circumstances.
This magical cord may stretch or tangle, but never break.”

And so it was.

“For it was not into my ear you whispered, but into my heart.

It was not my lips you kissed, but my soul.” Judy Garland

All I saw was his image. My imagination? I questioned myself hard. Was I hallucinating? No, I am much too pragmatic. My moon is in Capricorn.

Those eyes I knew.

Old soul was he.

And my twin flame walked into my life and,

I ignited.

I burned.

I emptied.

I yearned.

I dropped everything I no longer needed.

Everything.

I had no experience with that which was happening to me.

I could not name it, for it was beyond logic.

It was beyond emotional.

Beyond even falling in love.

There was no escaping.

No trying to run and hide.

I only felt the beauty of YES.

My soul only wanted to finally have a place to let it all be as is.

One with all.

and the person opposite of me seemed to be able to not only only hold the space for this bonfire,

he seemed to be able to read me

and everything I felt long before it even arrived.

I ate poetry for breakfast and fell asleep in the arms of harmony.

I saw in fuji color.

Deep oneness appeared, within and without.

I walked with a deep knowing that this soul, or this essence, or this being,

could read my thoughts, could see my dreams,

and for the first time I flipped inside out in utter joy of being.

I shared all the polka dots and moonbeams I had had stashed deep within and a few rugged terrains I had too.

I was in big trouble.

There is no going back when you meet your twin flame.

You can only hope you will not burn to a cinder.

But burn I did.

I burned off every part of myself which did not serve “the story,”

and dared to begin an adventure of unraveling red threads, and extracting their dye to use as ink for the hundreds of poems and books that were pouring through me.

“A soulmate is an ongoing connection with another individual that the soul picks up again in various times and places over lifetimes. We are attracted to another person at a soul level not because that person is our unique compliment, but because by being with that individual, we are somehow provided with an impetus to become whole ourselves.” Edgar Cayce

And how grand it is to finally deeply relax.
There is no more seeking.
I am home.
Once upon a time, in a land far far away,
is no longer a fairy tale,
it is a kite tail.
A kite tail that is now a thick red satin ribbon reaching 5577.428 bird miles across the Atlantic and back.
Anchored snugly around a leather bound book of poems that I keep tucked safely beneath my wings.

So, next time, you are about to turn off the lights and fall into bed, remember, that just like hummingbirds do fly, some bedtime stories do have good endings.

Enjoy this month’s newest single SOULLINES
Naked Thoughts Album

Words and Music by Kara Johnstad

LYRICS

With your beautiful eyes

Drawing me in

I exposed all

With your beautiful eyes

Watching each move

I open to it all

I change all my previous plans

Seeing the lines on your strong hands

Oh sweet heaven above, this is love

I found someone to read my Soullines.

Read me baby, Open this book

The stories are many, Now you just have a look

And when you’re ready, Just turn off the light

Come to bed now, Hold me tight

And read my Soullines.

A shiver runs up my spine

Knowing it´s time

To make the next move

This is the moment to choose

No more time to lose

Cause, love, all I want is you.

I feel fragile, yet oh so strong

No more explanations of right or wrong

Just the pure sweet joy

Of finding someone

Who can read my Soullines.

Read me baby, Open this book

The stories are many, Now you just have a look

And when you’re ready, Just turn off the light

Come to bed now, Hold me tight

And read my Soullines

Read my Soullines


Yes… Read me baby, Open this book

My stories are many, Just have a look

And read my Soullines.

As Richard Bach writes, A soulmate is someone who has locks that fit our keys, and keys that fit our locks. When we feel safe enough to open the locks, our truest selves step out and we can be completely and honestly who we are: we can be loved for who we are and not for who we’re pretending to be. Each unveils the best part of the other. No matter what else goes wrong around us, with that one person we’re safe in our own paradise.

Leave your comments below or share with me at www.facebook.com/voiceyouressence how you were changed by meeting someone who brought you smack back into the NOW.

Stay Gold,

Kara

Image: “Platonic Love” by Arvind Balaraman / http://www.freedigitalphotos.net
Image: “Red Ribbon” by Master isolated images / http://www.freedigitalphotos.net
Image: “Sunset” by Kane Gledhill / http://www.freedigitalphotos.net
Cover art for SOULLINES by Linda Gavin

This entry was posted in Kara Johnstad, Spirit, Women and tagged , , , , by karajohnstad. Bookmark the permalink.

About karajohnstad

Kara Johnstad is a creative visionary, transformational catalyst and a powerful voice in the time and age of transition. She is a singer / songwriter, creator of The Essence Radio Show™, and founder of the Voice Your Essence™ Mastery Program. Leading change agents, healers, personal development speakers and others recognize her as being a unique source of powerful truth and wisdom. As a top voice expert she has helped thousands with her "break-through" voice techniques and shares with us the secrets behind this powerful instrument and the role the human voice plays in fine tuning our Mind-Body-Spirit systems. Kara connects each and every week with subscribers from around the world via her Voice Your Essence™ eZine. Enjoy listening to Kara's soulful music as part of your daily ritual of reconnecting to source or jump onto the next level and experience personally the power of your true authentic voice with Kara Johnstad's VoiceYour Essence™ Mastery Program

Leave a Reply

