Perspectives


One of my favorite revelations about perspective was born on the St. Lawrence River one day while boating with my nephew Warren. He told me a story about an ocean going ship that had come through the Narrows the month before. The bow motor which steers the ship broke down and the bow of the ship veered into the back of St. Helena Island, which sits across the mouth of Swan Bay just north of the first 1,000 Island bridge span on the river.

St. Helena boathouse Photo by Vicki Willoughby

He said that the ship was aground for several days before they could rectify the situation and get it back in motion. Instantly my mind went to the perspective of the ship’s captain. How horrific that must feel to have the narrowest part of a shipping artery clogged that goes from the Atlantic Ocean all the way through the Great Lakes supplying all ports along the way. Imagine all the crew members who were supposed to be in a particular port or back home by a particular time. Then I thought of all the other ships whose only way out of or into the Great Lakes was blocked. How many people would actually be put in a position of hardship with this one event. Gosh what if their cargo was perishable or was needing to make a connection to complete its travel?

My mind traveled to all the potential implications of this one mishap, it was staggering to think about. Imagining myself as the ship’s captain I just wanted to throw up!

Warren and I followed a familiar route around Wellsley Island (it’s 7 miles long) and as we came around the tip of the island, we headed north again under the first span of the International bridges. He motored past the back of St. Helena Island before turning back into Swan Bay to finish our cruise. What I saw on the back of the Island almost sent me rolling out of the boat with laughter. There was a huge white sign board posted that read… No Tanker Docking Please!   Thank you, The Management.

St. Helena sits behind the bows of these ships Photo by Tad James Kring

After having mentally stood in the stress filled shoes of the ship’s captain the diffusing of that with the jovial offering of the people who own St. Helena Island was very profound to me. Its all the same event but which side of it you stand on makes all the difference in how you feel about it. If life is stressing you out its time to change your perspective and have a laugh. After all, how important will this stress be to you in 5 yrs or 10?

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 29 and 9 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 12 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 7 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you’d like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy or soul integration/inner child play please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon *at* yahoo.com, Blessings for your highest and best, Vicki Willoughby.

This entry was posted in Women and tagged , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 34 and 15 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 17 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 12 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

Leave a Reply

