Connection


Photo by Leah Schroeder

A year ago I listened to a program by Lynn McTaggart around her book “The Bond”.  I was fascinated by the concept of how connected everything is on the basic level and the idea that the real power and energy lies in the space between things.

I confess that I have had a challenge reading her book because of the scientific discussion at the beginning, but there are moments of revelation that I experience every time I make time to read a bit of it.

Today I was reading about some neurological testing that shows that neurons fire in our brains when we observe others actions and experiences in the same way as if we are experiencing it ourselves.  We may not feel someone’s physical pain, but we do feel the emotional pain associated with it.  The neurons in our brain mirror the activity of the neurons in the person we are observing.  The more empathetic a person is the more mirror neuron activity they display.  The experiences we have in our lifetime give us the ability to identify with others’ experiences and feel what they are feeling even if we haven’t experienced the exact same things.

There is a bond that is created on this level when people come together.  When a healer sends healing energy to a patient their two brains synchronize.  Touching someone with kindness or love creates this kind of synchronicity as well.  I have discovered from personal experience how important the power of touch is to facilitate healing in others and in myself.  It is like we are all part of a complex energy field that connects us.  Even on the most basic level, the smallest particles don’t have a distinct identity by themselves.  If you try to view them under a microscope, often they are only able to be seen together with other particles.

The other thing is that we are always sharing our light with each other.  We are constantly changing and being altered by our relationship between us and the world around us.  We are compelled to connect.  Our identity as an individual is really developed through our interactions with the environment around us.

The more we understand this, the more we break down the barriers we have created between us.  It allows for bridges to be built between people of differing beliefs, socioeconomic status, between groups of people at war with each other, and between our relationship with the earth.

Like the women of the Sisterhood Group on Facebook and the cowriters of this blog, people around the world are coming together to connect and create positive change in our world. For me this connection has brought out gifts and strengths in me I didn’t know I had.  There is strength and power in this new collective consciousness.   As much as the world seems in turmoil, I believe there is an undercurrent of positive change that is healing our planet.  I am grateful for the opportunity to be a part of that, even if only in a small way.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder, Women and tagged , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

5 thoughts on “Connection

  1. Leah, I am reading The Bond as well, and I completely related to your confession about having a hard time getting through the technical scientific stuff but still being moved by the insights presented. We are more alike than we knew! Thank you for sharing this blog..really wonderful post.

  2. Leah, I also started reading the Bond but it got put aside when I moved and I am still living in a bit of turmoil. Your words have encouraged me to pick it up again. I thank you, always, for your contributions to our changing world. 🙂

Leave a Reply

