Creating Space for a Simpler Life


Photo taken by Leah Schroeder

This morning I enjoyed a bike ride along a path that follows the river near my home.  My route takes me through our city’s main park, with beautiful gardens, natural treed areas along the river, through some forested areas past the city zoo and back towards home.   I went early to enjoy my ride before it got too hot outside.  The park was fairly quiet at that time of day.  This is an opportunity for me to have some exercise, but also to enjoy the beauty of the green spaces I ride through, and to have some quiet time.

As I was riding, I was reflecting on a conversation I had a couple of days ago as I enjoyed a visit with some friends around their fire pit.  We talked about how certain life experiences we have had lately being out in a more natural setting, and learning to live more connected to Spirit, make it more challenging to go to work every day at our regular jobs.  I found this to be true when I came back from Honduras last year.

Life in Honduras moves at a much slower, stress free pace.  People don’t have a lot there, but they are happy.   Even though I was only there a few weeks, I was able to slow down to a much more relaxed pace away from all the responsibilities that I tend to allow to pull me in different directions.  There is something about that lifestyle that I feel so drawn to.

Coming back home and going back to my business during the busiest time of year was really tough for me.  It wasn’t just working, but also finding it hard to have the same passion for what I do.  I had a new perspective and had a hard time reconciling that with the work I do.  I am still as committed to serving my clients and maintaining relationships with them.  I still see value in what I do, or I wouldn’t do it.  It just felt like there was something more calling me.

Last weekend, my boyfriend and I had the opportunity to spend a few days at a friend’s cottage.  We spent most of our time, casually boating around on a lake, visiting with other people in the area, and stopping to swim at beautiful spots along the lake.  We had such a great time.  We have visited this area a few times in the last few months and love the feeling we get when we are out there, enjoying the natural setting of the lakes, rock and trees.  It is very calming and relaxing for both of us.  A few times we commented on what a great life it would be to be able to live out there all the time.

I find myself craving a simpler lifestyle, free of all the “stuff” we accumulate in our lives and free of the busy-ness of work and living in the city.  For the moment, I create space for moments where I can slow life down, go for a bike ride along my favourite route, get out of the city to enjoy the beauty of lakes, natural rock formations, waterfalls, and the greenery of forests and farmer’s fields, or travel to some other country to experience life in a whole new way.

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Practitioner www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca and Financial Advisor. “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my 46 years this has been and currently is the place I call home. I have been working as a Financial Advisor for the past 15 years educating people about their finances, helping them restructure and reduce debt, invest for the future and properly protect their families. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges has led me to begin practising Reiki. I have a desire to learn and practise other healing modalities, as well as serve children and empower young women around the world. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

 

 

This entry was posted in Credits, Leah Schroeder and tagged , , , , , , by Leah Schroeder. Bookmark the permalink.

About Leah Schroeder

Leah Schroeder is a Reiki Master, Integrated Energy Therapy® Master-Instructor, and ThetaHealing® Practitioner, www.lifeforcehealingservices.ca . “I was born and raised in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. For most of my life this has been and currently is the place I call home. I spent 17 years working in Financial Services. A strong sense that there is something more I am supposed to do in the world, a fascination with energy and a series of intuitive nudges have led me to begin practising Reiki , ThetaHealing®, and IET®. I have a desire to learn, practice, and teach other healing modalities, empowering others to help shift the consciousness of humanity. I am grateful for the opportunity to share my thoughts and stories with you.”

10 thoughts on “Creating Space for a Simpler Life

  1. Leah, I can soooo relate to this. Its such a challenge to reconcile the spiritual with the physical. Where stuff is concerned, once upon a time my niece said something to me that really stuck. She said that when she was clearing space she would look at an item and, say,”Are you serving me or am I serving you?” If she had cleaned or dusted it or moved it more times than she’d appreciated it or used it, she got rid of it. I’ve used that as a rule of thumb ever since.

  2. Pingback: Inspirational Nature | rfljenksy – Practicing Simplicity

  3. Leah, love seeing things through your eyes; you create wonderful word pictures. Sometimes your views are a new twist other times your words remind me of my own thoughts as I passed that point in life. You are creating a charming life. (ps your hammock is always waiting)

  4. This is lovely Leah! I so relate to the idea of spiritual development jarring with daily life in the hustle and bustle. Think I’ll take the bus to a natural reserve tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

