Finding our flight pattern


As we move through this process of becoming a group, first of global sisters and then of authors and friends, self discoveries are made. We are coming to our own personal discoveries and the group is making its own.

Writing our own biographies can be a daunting task. It makes us face what we think of ourselves. What we would like others to see of us and what we hope they will not see. How do you define yourself and what is your role? These questions are not as easy as they might sound if you’ve never defined yourself, even if you have. As we move forward it is up to each of us to choose who we want to be in the public eye and who we want to be to each other.

Anyone who knows the story of the Canada Goose knows that there is a natural order about how they fly and how they flock together. The lift of the wing of the lead goose gives rise to each who follows in their turn. The flock can fly 75% longer than 1 goose on its own.  When the lead goose gets tired it falls back in formation to let the next goose lead while they take an easier position. If a goose is shot or sick 2 others fall out of formation with it and either stay with it until it’s able to fly or dies. Canada geese also mate for life and I believe the heart felt connections made in this group are life long.

As individuals becoming part of this group we’ve discovered that we can fly higher than we might have thought before, when we fly together.

In this group I believe we have progressively found our flight pattern. One takes the lead with their strong suit and the rest follow in support. When that job is either finished or changes the next person takes the lead. The order has just naturally changed between who will start our skype workshop calls, who will lead with keeping notes to communicate with the rest of the group, who will look into possibilities and legalities and who will work on graphics and presentation. Each of us leads with what we would like our contribution to be and with that we become a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts.

I love the sisters I have found in The Sisterhood. No where else have I found so many compassionate, giving hearts who want your joy as much as you do! When we bring our hearts together as one with no competition, no axes to grind, just love and support, company and community through life’s ups and downs, we feed each other body, mind and soul. We are all offered more than we give and in doing so we become stronger and more whole individually and as a group. We are living the change we want to see in the world, one comment, one post, one Like, one XXX ❤ at a time.

Photo by Vicki Willoughby

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 29 and 9 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 12 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 7 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you’d like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy or soul integration/inner child play please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon *at* yahoo.com, Blessings for your highest and best, Vicki Willoughby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 34 and 15 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 17 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 12 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

11 thoughts on “Finding our flight pattern

  1. Thank you for putting this into words Vicky … in a way it is ‘our biography’ … I love to be a Canadian goose… puts tears in my eyes to have found this flock to fly with… as I have felt life should be that way all my life… feels like coming home, at last… ❤

    • Thank you Ellen! I do see the way we have come together as incredibly beautiful. It makes me feel like I’m living my own dream that I didn’t know I had until it showed up!

      • so wonderful to feel you are living your dreams, I believe that is possible for all of us. I am very close to living mine too. And this is definitely a big part of it.

    • It has changed how I see the flocks that fly overhead here at home. Such deep respect and commitment! We are doing ourselves a service by following their wisdom! Thanks for the lift you always bring!

  2. I am so grateful that you allowed me to join your flock. Even if I am always bringing up the rear you make me feel like I belong. My heart is full of love for the visions I see arising from the words in this post. Many blessings for sharing your vision with us ❤

    • Laura, your blogs that you were sharing last fall were part of what inspired me. This is our flock, you took flight in support of the group that had formed and made us stronger. All positions in the flight pattern serve the flock. You are among my many blessings! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

