March 24, 1989


23 years ago today, an oil tanker crashed off the coast of Alaska.

Exxon Valdez was the most infamous, and, until recently (thanks BP), most disastrous oil spill of all time. It was also a classic example of profit and money-grabbing being prioritized above common sense risk assessment (the radar had been broken for a year, but was deemed too expensive to fix)/ to disastrous consequence. I sometimes wonder if I was born during the Exxon Valdez oil spill because I’m here to fight against things like that happening.  It does feel like it reflects on me, the fact that every now and then someone will mention the date that happens to be my birthday in such a dark context.

I believe the reason we celebrate birthdays is twofold. One, it provides the “birthday boy/girl” a chance to reflect on their life so far and where they are going, what they want to spend the rest of their lives doing. Two, it provides everyone who knows them the chance to reflect on the contribution that individual makes to their life, and allows that person to experience all that reflection in the form of the love they receive.
From when you’re a child, your birthday is a yearly holiday celebration of your very existence, which is why for many people it’s our favorite holiday. We get calls from relatives and faraway friends. We get to get back in touch with people. We get to spontaneously adore each other, write sappy messages about what we mean to each other, without having something horrible happen first. Truly, the celebration of the birthday is one of the best gifts our culture offers us.

As I mentioned before though, we also reflect. Whether we like it or not. I think this is why so many people dread birthdays, especially when you are switching decades. It’s the universe’s quiet way of saying – hey, you’ve hit another milestone, you aren’t going to be around forever.
Don’t misinterpret that message. It’s not sent to throw you into despair. It’s sent to spring you into action. To inspire you to finally start going for those dreams you put aside all those years that have passed.

I’m 23 today. I could not have asked for a more perfect time to be sharing my first contribution with The Daily Sisterhood. This incredible circle of women I’ve found myself lucky enough to walk amongst are working together to bring about more authenticity on the planet, and that’s exactly what I want to be doing with the next ten years. I’m a relatively new arrival on the planet, but I dream big – I dream of a planet where no oil tankers crash due to negligence, killing millions of marine animals and destroying entire ecosystems. I dream of a planet where the guiding forces are love, morality and social responsibility – where we look after each other. Today, 23 years after I came into the world and the oil took so many animals out of it, I pledge to everyone reading this that I will do everything in my power to make that change.
Join hands with me. Make a vow to step into your authenticity and your life’s purpose, to bring about a more beautiful world. That’s what we’re here for. The time is now… where do you want to be by your next birthday?

 

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

Sadie Fulton is a 23-year-old with a massive vision for the world and a million different avenues she pursues to help get it there. She grew up traveling and has developed into a full-time activist, full-time lover of humanity, part-time musician, and she is now training to be a life coach. Above all, she wants to reach people and bring on a new era of love. If you want to share with her, get her perspective on something you are going through, or anything else at all, send her an email at sadie.fulton *at* gmail.com.

6 thoughts on “March 24, 1989

  1. I just want to hold your hands and jump up and down. Yea! Happy Birthday! We have such amazing choices to make..such wonderful adventures to be a part of! We’re all just getting started! It’s exciting to imagine where it can go from here.

Leave a Reply

