How I Met my 200+ Sisters on FB


It’s all Lydia Moreno’s fault. That’s all some of us can really be sure of! I say that with the utmost joy and respect for the mother of our beloved page on Facebook!

Many of us signed up for a presentation online called Feminine Power, scheduled for July 2011. That was where Lydia got the inspiration for the page called “Sisterhood” and the contact information for the people she invited. I personally received my invitation to the page from Lydia on July 15th, 2011, the rest is history.

I accepted the invitation having no idea what it was all going to be about. I have 3 biological sisters so sisterhood is a welcome concept to me. When I logged on to the page there were already 61 participants and the numbers quickly grew. There was artwork from Jennifer Bothast and insight from Alishaa Asakura and suggestions from Sadie Fulton. Immediately it was so amazing that this group of women came together from around the world, in this space and offered love and support to each other unconditionally. It quickly became the place to go for sisterly input for many of us and we added more sisters to the group at will.

Our sharing was so deep and profound it was decided to close the group so we could feel more safe and protected from eyes who might not understand or might judge harshly. We did agree however that each of the members could still be free to add whomever we thought was appropriate.

Soon Sadie created a document called “Who We Are” so that we could share what services we offered and seek each other out for said services easily. It was a great idea to help us familiarize ourselves with who we were. The networks and personal relationships grew and expanded as we shared our knowledge, wisdom and links with each other.

Later I got the idea of creating another document called “What We Choose”, working from the suggestion in “The Secret” that you write down your goals as if they were already true. Starting with “I’m so happy and grateful now that . . . ” I thought if it can work for one person to focus in that way, then bringing the light of the attention of the Sisterhood to our intentions would have to quicken them, right?

Like Lydia, in the beginning, I had no idea what the results of creating that document would be. In what seemed like two point three microseconds Sadie commented, “Way to raise the bar Vicki!” and Ellen seconded, “Way to raise the bar indeed!” and the bar was raised. I did not perceive it that way but those I offered it to did. Marlene Skaley piped up and said that with so many amazing, powerful women in the same place that we should be writing books or screenplays or something. In less than 36 hrs. Sadie had set up the page “Tools of the Sisterhood” for the purpose of us writing e-books together and welcomed anyone from the Sisterhood who wanted to contribute. By that weekend several of us were on a skype call together and it all just seemed like magic!

Many of us are doing work on accepting ourselves fully, shadows and all. It seemed to me that if we had a place to put our shadows (an online confessional if you will) and shone the light of our collective attention into it then it would have to make our shadows disappear, right? In a dark room it only takes one candle to shine the light and eliminate the darkness. I knew what I wanted to do but had no idea how to make it happen, so I made a video and put the idea out to my coauthoring sisters for help. Of course it became simple from there on out. Sadie created a specific page so that we could all enter anonymously and post at will and access was published to the Sisterhood page so we could all use this new tool of unburdening ourselves.

Those of us who chose to author have tried our best to move forward and meet on skype calls as often as possible but things became sluggish moving toward our original deadline of Jan 1, 2012 to have submissions in for our first e-book. We gathered on a call to discuss it and came to the conclusion that blogging would be so much easier to start out with and would give us feedback to know what people really wanted to see.

Like a track runner who has been waiting on the starting block, the shot was fired and we were off! Juices started flowing and fingers started typing and agreements were made. We agreed that the Sisterhood page had become daily spiritual sustenance for each of us and that we wanted to carry a taste of that to the world, thus our heading ~ The Daily Sisterhood. We sincerely hope that our readers will find this to be a place of daily enlightenment and sharing as we have found each other. No judgements, no criticism just love, acceptance, encouragement and support of women from a global perspective.

Our writers and artists are in places like Cairo, Berlin, Belgium, Belfast, Manitoba, the States and bring a broad perspective to their contributions. Our greatest wish is for your highest and best as we attempt to live and share ours. Blessings to every global sister!

Logo by Lydia Gonzales Moreno

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR E-ZINE OR WEB SITE?

Please do! Just be sure to include this complete blurb with it:

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 29 and 9 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 12 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 7 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you’d like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy or soul integration/inner child play please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon *at* yahoo.com, Blessings for your highest and best, Vicki Willoughby.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , by Vicki. Bookmark the permalink.

About Vicki

I was born and raised a Central New Yorker but lived 18 yrs. in Va Bch, VA. I am the mother of two young men, who are 34 and 15 yrs. of age. I have been doing Reflexology since I was 11 yrs old, I have been a teaching Reiki Master for 17 yrs and have been Dr. Mom for my family using therapeutic grade essential oils as our medicine for 12 yrs. Having come from a functional family but living many years in a megalopolis combined with many years of being a catalyst for healing, gives me a varied point of view. Perspective is one of my favorite playgrounds! If you'd like a consultation for Reiki or aromatherapy please feel free to contact me at vaw4beacon@yahoo.com.

5 thoughts on “How I Met my 200+ Sisters on FB

  1. Thanks for writing on the beginning of how the sisterhood was created Vicki. You are a very important Sister always holding space for each of us. Listening, commenting, inspiring, sharing and caring.
    I love you and all the Sisters and I feel soooo very fortunate indeed to be a part of this group.

  2. Wow..awesome to have this on going adventure chronicled like that! I think its important to have this history of us mentioned too..from the humble beginnings to where we are now to ..wow..who knows where it goes from here. Am so very grateful to be a part of this with all of you.

Leave a Reply

